The University

The Federal University of Uberlândia - UFU, an institution that is part of the Brazilian federal higher education system, was authorized by Decree-Law no. 762, of August 14, 1969, federalized nine years later by Law 6,532, of May 24, 1978. Headquartered in the city of Uberlândia-MG, UFU currently has 30 Academic Units, which offer 58 different undergraduate courses, 37 master's programs and 19 doctoral programs in six campuses: Santa Monica Campus, Umuarama Campus, Educação Fisica Campus, Campus do Pontal, Monte Carmelo Campus and Patos de Minas Campus. The University also has ESEBA (School of Basic Education), and ESTES (Technical School of Health) units.

Our university is today a complex institution with responsibilities towards Brazilian society, especially that located in its surroundings. In this context, UFU has several challenges ahead of it, reflecting its mission to "train qualified professionals, produce knowledge and disseminate science, technology and innovation, culture and art in society through public and free education, Research and extension, aiming at improving the quality of life, the dissemination of ethical and democratic values, social inclusion and sustainable development".

The university is constantly expanding, with the creation of new undergraduate and distance courses, new graduate programs, expansion of the physical and technological infrastructure, and consolidation of campuses outside the university. Thus, it is aligned with its vision of the future, which is "to be among the ten Brazilian federal universities most remembered by society, as a reference in the promotion of teaching, research and extension".

More information at:

Video UFU 2015